What I’m Reading Now

Ahh, Christmas Vacation. The biggest perk about still being in school is the Vacation. Consequently, I have been getting to read alot more books lately. Here’s a quick run-down on what I currently have on my nightstand…

Getting Things Done

1. Getting Things Done, by David Allen
I have read about 2/3 of this book & I am already a total convert. I want to drink the Kool-Aid! Haha, but really, I wish I would have discovered this book sooner. His idea of getting everything out of your head & on to paper is great. I generally have all my stuff together in my head, so I didn’t really think that I needed this. I am generally able to keep it all together pretty well. But I have also seen the offices of several attorneys whom I have worked with & so I know how bad it can get. Hopefully, using these skills I can avoid that outcome. Plus, it appeals to the inner-geek in me who loves getting new office supplies! Filing, weee!

new-moon2 2. New Moon, by Stephenie Meyer
The second book in the Twilight Series, I’ve just started this one. Yes, I know, these books are for pre-teen girls. But one of my good friends insisted I read the first book Twilight and it was pretty good so I decided to give this one a go as well. Not sure how I am going to feel about this one yet…

tr33. Theodore Rex, by Edmund Morris
I got this one off of Paperback Swap, one of my all-time favorite web sites. I didn’t know at the time that this same author had written a previous biography about TR prior to his becoming President, The Rise of Theodore Roosevelt, I think that this one stands alone pretty well, though. Picking up right at the assassination of President McKinley, this book has been a great read so far. It is amazing how much history can relate to present day. For instance, I was struck by the part of the book where TR has to deal with controversy in the Philippines over “water torture.” The more things change, the more they stay the same…

bwd4. Black & White, and Dead All Over, John Darnton
I picked this one up at the library on a whim. Another one that I’ve just started, although so far its been a nice, easy read. Also, this one must be pretty new because its on check-out for 7 days only. So I better get on it, although its not too long, so it shouldn’t be a problem.

Well, I guess that’s it for now. Maybe I’ll post more when I’ve actually finished one!

Published in: on January 1, 2009 at 1:01 pm  Comments (1)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://legalbrunette.wordpress.com/2009/01/01/what-im-reading-now/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. “Yes, I know, these books are for pre-teen girls.”

    You shouldn’t always judge a book by it’s target market. I recently reviewed an eBook that was written for teens – but I throughly enjoyed it anyway(I’m way beyond my teens)

    Cheers,
    Trevas


Leave a Reply

